Towards a better tomorrow (Exciting news inside)

Sunset

“No, this is not the beginning of a new chapter in my life; this is the beginning of a new book! That first book is already closed, ended, and tossed into the seas; this new book is newly opened, has just begun! Look, it is the first page! And it is a beautiful one!” 

― C. JoyBell C.

A little over 4 months ago, I proposed to a few of my friends. My proposal was, to start a blog, a photoblog to be more specific. Why? Well, after having seen the immense talent of photographers in my University, and also realizing the long lost desire to start blogging again, I decided, why not satisfy what I want to do, and at the same time give all these amazing photographers the exposure their work truly deserved. And thus, Manipal Photo Blog was born on January, 30th.

And since then, it’s been one hell of a ride. Starting from scratch to this day, this blog has taught me more than I could have hoped to learn in the last few months.

  • A deeper understanding of the internet community,
  • many many great friends (it’s you all!),
  • a twitter account (about time huh),
  • awakening of the writer in my (check out whatshawt.com),
  • realizing my interest in entrepreneurship,
  • exposure to “social media” (mashable and related sites),
  • …(I think you get the point by now 🙂 )

“I decided, why not satisfy what I want to do, and at the same time give all these amazing photographers the exposure their work truly deserved”

And so now, I ask you, all my friends and readers (both), would you support me in the next step that I wish to take? This blog has come a long way in 4 months, but there is much to accomplish and achieve, much to do, and a major part of it, I can’t, at least not alone. The future of this blog very much depends on you, and your participation and willingness to contribute.

A Happy Dog

I blog, cause it gives me happiness, and to connect with soo many people…

What I’m proposing is this:

  • Create a platform for budding photographers( also include new photobloggers)
  • Give them this platform to share their work, and get the appreciation and popularity which their photographs rightly deserve
  • Allow the photographers to write an article (or description) with the photo, or add their poetry
  • Alternatively, allow people interested in writing, to choose a photo and a theme and write an article, or submit their poetry
  • Maintain a friendly community, for people to visit daily, browse awesome content, read opinions, articles, poetry
  • (that’s it for now 😀 )

Capture the Sun
So, what do you all have to say? This is possible only and only with your willingness and participation and support.

I would love to hear what all of you have to say on this. Please do leave your thoughts below.

GALLERY

75 responses to “Towards a better tomorrow (Exciting news inside)

  1. Yes, following right behind! Old and new, Preetam. You’ve also unwittingly taught me quite a few things about blogging. Maybe I’ll buy a camera and start taking beautiful pictures just for you! 🙂

  2. While I don’t consider myself a professional photograph by any stretch of the imagination, after seeing others entries, I might find a shot or two, if you really need them to round things out for your project. I’m curious to see what you come up with. Good idea. 🙂

  3. I would love to give it a go, when inspired by a great photo – if you go ahead, I think it will work. Look how much you’ve already achieved in such a short time! 🙂

  4. Great idea my friend. Follow your dreams. If you continue to give people what they want they will follow you.

  5. Congrats on the success of your blog. You appear to have access to considerable talent for the blog. I will always be visiting, but my photos won’t match the quality you require.

  6. I love that all over the world people are connecting!
    I love the idea and would love to add to it! I love both photography and writing.
    You have some great work!

  7. I would be thrilled to write – poetry or article. Being that I am an “accidental photographer” (meaning if I get a good photo, it’s probably by accident), I doubt I would contribute in that venue. Have you thought, though, on how many submissions you will likely get? You may soon be overwhelmed! 🙂 PS – are you still doing the e-zine?

    • hah, the greatest inventions happen by accident.

      Yes e-zine is on for now. That is being done internally with my college team. But the plan is to include everybody!

      Send in your write ups to me!

  8. Mani, you always have some very impressive photos. I happen to be partial to the Rottweiler, I love those dogs. I still miss mine, she passed away some time ago and I just can’t seem to find the right one to replace her, but still looking for a good pup. Thanks for bringing back some good memories.

  9. I say go for and enjoy the heck out of it. I’m with you all the way. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Towards a better tomorrow (Exciting news … – Manipal's Photo Blog » Fotoblog me·

  11. nice idea my friend! after all, this is all about sharing and being connected with everyone.. well, i’m no pro in photography but i wish to share a photo with you one of these days.. more power!

  12. What a great idea! Go for it! I would enjoy the chance to contribute some poetry. The photos on this blog are truly inspirational 🙂

  13. Pingback: How My Dates are Connecting Me to the World « 52 Dates with Myself·

  14. Pingback: Inspired Kreativity – Be a part! | Manipal's Photo Blog·

  15. What a great idea for a blog! Thanks for liking my post, and bringing me to your blog. It answers a lot of the questions I’m having about blogging and social media. Great job! I’m joining your growing number of followers.

  16. That’s really an awesome idea that is probably overlooked more often than not. I think I may look in to doing this on my campus, it may have some potential.

    I think I’ll take a little more time to see all of what you say on here, I appreciate the inspiration.

    Thank you for the creative ideas! You also have incredible shots as well!

    Feel free to stop by my side of the blogosphere, too!

  17. Hello! Thanks for liking my Japan pics =)
    I picked this post at random from your archive; what you’re proposing sounds like a great idea – showcasing great work and promoting a community around it is commendable.

Speak your mind (or write it, rather)