Finding Happiness

There are many things in life that we (have) do everyday, they we get to do sometimes and that we yearn to do. A job for instance, is everyday. Playing football, sometimes. And the things we yearn to do, for instance travelling around the world and visiting the beautiful country sides and islands full of nature!

Exploring nature, something that I wish to do soo much but am unable to do so. Living in a city sometimes sucks, truly.

That playfulness, something most of us lose with our childhood gone past us. It used to bring us happiness, maybe if we bring it back into our lives they coild become a happier place.

Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.

Groucho Marx
In our journey through life, we often forget out childhood goals. All goals and dreams lead to happiness ultimately, believe me. But we tend to forget it in the course of our lives. Work, work pressure and other worldly issues engulf us and we forget those childhood dreams. That is why I urge you all to never give up on what you like. It’s regret that brings remorse at a stage of life where you simply can’t go back. No matter whatever else you do, make sure you keep your dreams alive even a little. Because if you don’t dream, what life will it be?

Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.

 Harriet Tubman

So I urge you all. Because all of you are my friends. I can remember most of your faces or username or some of your names through twitter or facebook now. So all I want is for you to be happy. Follow whatever gives you happiness. Make it a hot pursuit if the dream seems tough. Don’t give up and don’t give in. It’s the story of your life. Live it and love it.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.

Henry David Thoreau

Only because of this attitude of mine did I re-realize my love for reading, and realize my love for writing. I love writing tech articles. But I love writing blog posts such as this one here. 

This dog from my college seems quite happy drinking from the sprinkler 🙂

I promised  myself to never give up on my dreams. No matter how distant or unreal they seem. Because if I give up, what will be left? Quite simply, nothing!
Colors of life. Make your life a colorful one. A one to cherish and remember.
“It is the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”
So tell me. What makes you happy? I openly shared with you. And wish you’d do the same.

92 responses to “Finding Happiness

  1. That’s a fact! The power of being happy is just in our hands. Unwelcome the negative vibes and just enjoy life!.. 🙂 Lovely quote and photo! ♥

  2. I’ve been digging your blog and wanted to drop you a Versatile Blogger award. Looking forward to seeing more of your images.

  3. Hello Preetam,

    Firstly, thank you for liking my blog!

    Following from that, it meant that I discovered yours which is beautiful, simplistic and I am going to follow it because it’ll be a little touch of feel goodness in the mornings.

  4. That first picture with the girl jumping is fantastic! Great job. That’s a great quote too!

  5. Such colorful, expressive photos! I guess Mr. Marx knew a thing or two about living in the moment–thanks for sharing!

    P.S. Thanks for dropping by my blog! 🙂

  6. One of my favourite quotes of all time and some brilliant photographs accompanying it! 🙂
    Excellent work, the first pic in particular looks fantastic!

  7. Pingback: Finding Happiness « Manipal's Photo Blog·

  8. these are really wonderful captures, the first one in particular. they have a great feel to them, and of course the lighting seals the deal. incredible work, and always a nice sentiment

  9. I love the picture and how the sun is in the background. Reminds me how much I love living in Southern California.

  10. Manipal, it is so true, that you only need live for today. You cannot do anything about the past, and so far, no one has been able to actually go into the future, so tomorrow is out of the question. Believe it or not, I used to watch Groucho Marx, and he was actually a very smart person. And funny.

  11. Pingback: Finding Happiness | Manipal's Photo Blog·

  12. Pingback: Finding Happiness | Manipal's Photo Blog » Fotoblog me·

  13. Pingback: Finding Happiness | Manipal's Photo Blog·

  14. Well,I love clothes and food, it makes me happy but the problem with stuff like this is that,it doesn’t really give you THE JOY that you long for.
    What definitely makes me really happy is the feeling of making someone happy.♥

  15. Pingback: Finding Happiness | Manipal's Photo Blog « Fotoblogme·

  16. Pingback: Get Off My List! « The Blog of Bryon Lape·

  17. Love your waking up affirmation. In yoga and vedanta philosophy, the universe and everything in it is considered to be neutral. It is the individual who, observes and experiences the universe, people, and circumstances as either positive or negative.

  18. We don’t find happiness, we create happiness. 🙂
    The bursting of an orange, yellow, pinkish color that blazes across the sky before a sunrise. Love. Togetherness. Hope. Encouragement. Some of the things that make me happy. 😆

  19. God talks to us through The Holy Bible and He speaks clearly about being worried about today or tomorrow when in Luke Chapter 12 He says:
    “22 Then he said to his disciples, ‘That is why I am telling you not to worry about your life and what you are to eat, nor about your body and how you are to clothe it.
    23 For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.
    24 Think of the ravens. They do not sow or reap; they have no storehouses and no barns; yet God feeds them. And how much more you are worth than the birds!
    25 Can any of you, however much you worry, add a single cubit to your span of life?
    26 If a very small thing is beyond your powers, why worry about the rest?
    27 Think how the flowers grow; they never have to spin or weave; yet, I assure you, not even Solomon in all his royal robes was clothed like one of them.
    28 Now if that is how God clothes a flower which is growing wild today and is thrown into the furnace tomorrow, how much more will he look after you, who have so little faith!
    29 But you must not set your hearts on things to eat and things to drink; nor must you worry.
    30 It is the gentiles of this world who set their hearts on all these things. Your Father well knows you need them.
    31 No; set your hearts on his kingdom, and these other things will be given you as well.
    32 ‘There is no need to be afraid, little flock, for it has pleased your Father to give you the kingdom.
    33 ‘Sell your possessions and give to those in need. Get yourselves purses that do not wear out, treasure that will not fail you, in heaven where no thief can reach it and no moth destroy it.
    34 For wherever your treasure is, that is where your heart will be too.” Taken from: http://www.catholic.org/bible/book.php?id=49&bible_chapter=2.
    So if you want to give happy all you need is to live Jesus says in Matthew Chapter 5:
    “3 How blessed are the poor in spirit: the kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
    4 Blessed are the gentle: they shall have the earth as inheritance.
    5 Blessed are those who mourn: they shall be comforted.
    6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for uprightness: they shall have their fill.
    7 Blessed are the merciful: they shall have mercy shown them.
    8 Blessed are the pure in heart: they shall see God.
    9 Blessed are the peacemakers: they shall be recognised as children of God.
    10 Blessed are those who are persecuted in the cause of uprightness: the kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
    11 ‘Blessed are you when people abuse you and persecute you and speak all kinds of calumny against you falsely on my account.
    12 Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven; this is how they persecuted the prophets before you.” Taken from: http://www.catholic.org/bible/book.php?id=47

Speak your mind (or write it, rather)