Of Will and Courage

“Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.”

Mahatma Gandhi

Amol Kamath

42 responses to “Of Will and Courage

  1. Pingback: Of Will and Courage « Manipal's Photo Blog·

  2. Those poor oxen. Too bad man doesn’t apply some of Gandhi’s teachings to the treatment of animals. 😦 Sorry, didn’t mean to break the spirit, I just can’t get over the ropes running those those poor beasts’ noses. How cruel is that?

  3. Pingback: Of Will and Courage « Manipal's Photo Blog « Fotoblogme·

  4. Pingback: Foto blog » Blog Archive » Of Will and Courage « Manipal's Photo Blog·

    • “- AMOL KAMATH”

      This is shot during the Kambala event,a very well celebrated sport in the rural areas of Karnataka.
      Its a bull race wherein the beast is made to gush through the mud and water filled track.Its an exhilarating experience……

  5. I agree with Orples comment. The treatment is sad. And the image was too real.

    But I got to admit it is still a great shot. To catch movement like that–the protruding muscles in his chest and arms, the water drops shooting up in the air, his facial expression, the different feet buried in the mud and lifted in mid-action, and the haunting face of the white bull as it races down the track–is incredible. So, great job to the photographer!

    • Yes. I too feel the cruelty. But it’s a way of life that will continue for a long time even at this current world of animal rights activists.

      I agree, Amol Kamath got a brilliant shot!

  6. Great article and right to the point. I don’t know if this is actually the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks 🙂

  7. Amol, I visited your site after I saw that you had come to check out Middlescapes.com. Your photography is beautiful. You capture the essence and nature of each of your subjects. Thank you for bringing this inspiration to the world, and to me. Blessings and peace to you. I look forward to experiencing more.

  8. Hi, much as I cannot agree with the ‘sport’ being portrayed, your photo and your very appropriate caption are probably enough to show how humankind is not actually the ‘highest’ level in the animal kingdom! Having said that, the photography is superb, and your quote fits beautifully. Thank you for liking my blog; if you read from the beginning, you will find another reason why humankind is not the most humane of animals! Thank you for sharing. I’m going to follow your blog. Kindest regards, Chrissie

  9. Yeah, I like the image for it’s capture of dynamic motion and obviously intense struggle between man and beast but I don’t see it as simply a work of art to marvel at. I see it more as a social or political image.

    I’m not an animal activist by any means but I’m put off by most “sports” and shows that involve making animals race or fight for people’s pleasure. I’ve seen a few dog and dolphin trick shows and videos in which I am certain that the animals truly enjoy what they’re doing, and not just for the reward that comes from performing well. I’m content with those. Otherwise, I’m not thrilled to see this sort of activity illustrated except for the potential I think it has to teach us to be more cognizant of how not to abuse animals.

Speak your mind (or write it, rather)

